What is your WHY for continuing synchronized skating?

Written by: 2020-21 U.S. Figure Skating DREAM Program and Starlights Junior Synchronized Skating Team Member, Madeline Beery

When I was 4 years old, I was obsessed with the movie Mickey’s Once Upon a Christmas. There was a scene where Minnie and Daisy were competing against each other in an ice skating competition (also featuring ice skating hippos and crocodiles in tutus). I begged my parents to sign me up for skating lessons so I could be just like them.

My parents drove me to the University of Delaware ice rink, where I began to take group classes and witnessed a few older skaters participating in an introduction to synchro class. I knew nothing about synchronized skating, but I was fascinated with the skaters’ ability to create different formations and the aspect of teamwork and cooperation synchro provided—something I couldn’t replicate in my individual training. From that day on, I was completely hooked.

I’ve always loved the feeling of sharing the ice with 16-20 of my best friends, knowing that win or lose, we’d all be there to support each other. I also love how synchronized skating is made up of a unique blend of athleticism and artistry, using elements and choreography to tell a story. With each new season comes a new opportunity for innovation and risk-taking to help move the sport forward.

My happy place is on the ice alongside my teammates, but the 2019 U.S. Synchronized Skating Championships solidified my desire to continue skating and being involved with the sport for as long as I can.

Heading into the free program, our team felt uneasy, to say the least. Our short program the night before had a few mistakes and potential injuries, and our official practice had left us feeling even more nervous. That night, however, our team put out one of our best and most emotional performances of the entire season. I remember going into our moves element near the end of the program, almost unable to hear the music over the crowd cheering.

Hitting the ending pose of our program that day, I felt immensely proud to be a part of this sport. Not only had our team shown resilience, but we had also managed to create a special moment in the arena. I will never forget looking up from the kiss and cry and realizing we had truly moved the audience, earning a standing ovation.

Transitioning from a normal season to disconnected practices and choreography sessions over Zoom has been difficult. At the time of writing this article, my team is off the ice indefinitely due to state restrictions. While I miss my teammates more than ever, this time has provided me with a valuable opportunity to reflect on why I love synchronized skating so much. I know I will have a greater appreciation for even the toughest, most exhausting practices in the future.

Synchronized skating is about so much more than placements or scores. What keeps me motivated in the toughest of times is knowing that eventually, we will be able to create these meaningful moments together again.

-Maddie

Leave a comment